Play Tent in a Bag

 4777436_orig
Meet my family! Yes it is one of those economical moments! Money was VERY tight for Christmas so all my gifts were homemade and from the heart. Where are we in this picture? We are under a tent in the living room at my in-laws that I had made for my two sons. “Thank you Meg and Andy for such an awesome idea!
http://megandandymade.blogspot.com/2011/05/super-hero-fort-kit.html The boys just loved it and it topped all the gifts they had received from mommy and daddy. Cost?

The Sheet cost – free. Found an old one in our linen closet that wasn’t being used any more
Clothes pins cost – $1 dollar tree,
Flash lights X 2 cost – $2 dollar tree,
Rope cost –  $1 dollar store,
Glow sticks X2 cost – $2,
The bag cost – Free. I made it out of some knit fabric that was too small to make anything else out of. Got to love the fabric scrap bin.
The ties that I sewed unto the sheet were also from the scrap bin.

Total Cost $6 Yeah!

I used a queen size sheet and I cut the ties to be about 10 inches long. When sewn unto the sheet it created about 5 inches on each side to tie to a chair or other piece of furniture. ” I didn’t want them longer, because I did not want the boys to be able to tie knots.” I sewed a tie on each corner and extra ties on the longer sides of the sheet and 2 extra ties on the short side of the sheet.

The kids had a blast…. Ok so we all had lots of fun.
How was your Christmas? Did you create any of the gifts you made this year? Please feel free to share we loved to hear about it.
About ajoyful

I'm a wife, a momma, a housekeeper and a penny saving one at that.

Posted on January 17, 2013, in Money Saving Ideas, Up-Cycle and Reuse and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Economical Mommy

Where saving money is a must

Urban Hallelujah

Let everything that has breath praise the Lord

Pastor's Wife's Life

They say I have my hands full; I say my cup is just full... so full it runs over. -Psalm 23:5

Easy Peasy All-in-One Homeschool

A complete, free online Christian homeschool curriculum for your family and mine

Chew Out Loud

Sweet. Savory. One Bite at a Time.

Books, cupcakes and cats chasing chipmunks...

From Paris, to New York, and Austin

SWEET SIMPLE STUFF

.......... sweet stuff that is soo simple to make!

Economical Mommy

To pinch pennies and to save a buck or two

LoveGreenBaby

Life is about to change

smarter moms

for real moms living in real time

