Chicken/Beef/Turkey Commercial Recipe

I don’t know about you, but turkey commercials are very tasty and very easy to make. I love making these from the leftovers from a turkey or a chicken or even leftovers from a beef roast. I love buying the turkeys during the winter months because they are typically on sale for really cheap per pound. “.69 – .99per lb” I usually buy a 20lb bird cook it right up and de-bone it into ziplock freezer bags for meals later on. I also place all that turkey broth into ziplock bags for broth in foods later on. This has saved us a lot of money on groceries and meals.

I made this commercial with turkey.
To get started

  • Chop your turkey up. – I like to use both the dark and white turkey. The two different kinds gives it color and I just love the taste of both in the commercial.
  • You will also need turkey broth, I use about 3 cups.
  • Cornstarch or flour “follow the box for how much to add” I usually add about 4 tablespoons of cornstarch to this recipe
  • Potatoes about 4 – 6 large potatoes
  • Slices of bread – however many you need to feed your family
  • About 1 cup of water
  • Salt – to taste
  • 1/2 cup to 3/4 cups of milk depending
  • Butter – Couple of tablespoons for the mashed potatoes

Here is the turkey that I’m chopping up, not sure if you can tell in the picture but there is white and dark meat.
Just chop the turkey up into bite size pieces and set aside.

6178638_orig

I LOVE the skins on the potatoes so I usually leave 2 or 3 potatoes with their skins on and the others I peel the skins off of.
Don’t throw those skins away! You can make some potato skin chips out of them. Go ahead and get that water boiling for your potatoes a large to medium size pan depending on your family size.
After the pan is boiling really good add the cut up potatoes.

2710319_orig

Here is my yummy frozen turkey broth. We will be using this as our base for making the gravy.
While the broth is thawing go ahead and get a small bowl and add 1 – 2 cups of cold water plus your corn starch or flour. Follow the directions on the box of cornstarch for how much to add to the cold water.
Once you have whisked that together, go ahead and add it to your gravy.
After adding the water and cornstarch to the broth go ahead and add your chopped turkey.
Stir the gravy until it thickens. Once your gravy is thick enough for you, set aside to keep warm.

7663049_orig

By the time your gravy is done, your potatoes should be fork tender.
Strain all the water out of your potatoes and put them back in your pan and mash them to smithereens.
Add some milk and butter to your mashed potatoes until you get the texture you like.
I like to use my potato masher then use my mixer.
Once you have the potatoes mashed and the gravy made.
Put a slice of bread down on a place add your mashed potatoes on top and then add your gravy on top of that.
Here is the masterpiece about to be devoured.

1713578_orig

 

Do you like to eat Turkey, Beef, Chicken Commercials?

 

If you like what you just read please click to send a quick vote for me on Top Mommy Blogs- The best mommy blog directory featuring top mom bloggers

About ajoyful

I'm a wife, a momma, a housekeeper and a penny saving one at that.

Posted on February 28, 2013, in Recipes of all Kinds and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Economical Mommy

Where saving money is a must

Urban Hallelujah

Let everything that has breath praise the Lord

Pastor's Wife's Life

They say I have my hands full; I say my cup is just full... so full it runs over. -Psalm 23:5

Easy Peasy All-in-One Homeschool

A complete, free online Christian homeschool curriculum for your family and mine

Chew Out Loud

Sweet. Savory. One Bite at a Time.

Books, cupcakes and cats chasing chipmunks...

From Paris, to New York, and Austin

SWEET SIMPLE STUFF

.......... sweet stuff that is soo simple to make!

Economical Mommy

To pinch pennies and to save a buck or two

LoveGreenBaby

Life is about to change

smarter moms

for real moms living in real time

