DIY Indoor Greenhouse

DIY – Indoor Greenhouse

I know in the last several years I have tried a few different things for starting plants indoor and I’m going to share with you what I have found that works great. To help increase the calcium content of your dirt add crushed egg shells to your dirt. Your Tomatoes will thank you. Also if you want to increase the nitrogen in your soil it isn’t too far from your kitchen, save those used coffee granules and add to your soil. Follow this guide to find out how to add to your garden.
http://www.homeherbgardenanswers.com/coffee-grounds-for-plants/

You will need the following:
– Anything you can put dirt in
*I found that empty egg cartons work great! They retain moisture and are biodegradable.
– Dirt
– A clear tote *preferably one that fits under your bed
– Spade
– Egg Shells that have been rinsed and dried to add extra calcium to the dirt I bought. $0.99 a bag
– Potato masher
– Bowl
-Seed markers “Popsicle sticks or gardening sticks”
– Seeds

Directions: Start with your calcium content, all those egg shells that you have been storing. Put them all into your bowl and grab your potato masher and crush all those egg shells. This activity is great for kids to do and help with and my middle child was more than happy to oblige.

1038475
once you have removed your egg shells from your cartons, saying that is how you stored them too. go ahead and tear off the tops of the egg cartons.

6980040
I placed $0.99 bag of dirt in a pail and half of the egg shells that were crushed into the bucket and mixed. We did after all have 8 dozen eggs.

5ULOm4ixbNjyh_t_wN17sN3tULLX3oeh_BmZm0MxFdE

Now if you have a tote that doesn’t have a clear lid like I did, place the lid on the floor .

3518635
Once you have all your egg cartons put them onto your lid or inside your container depending on if you have a lid that is see-through too.

6092490
now comes the fun part and your kids will have so much fun with this part. Place dirt in your cartons about half full. I highly recommend using something like Popsicle sticks to mark your containers for the different kinds of seeds you are planting.

7005413
Place your seeds on top of the dirt in each pod depending on how deep they need to be. I place 2 seeds in each pod just in case one doesn’t grow I have that extra back up. And if 2 do sprout I will separate them when it is time to transplant.

1063866
The seeds I like to use are Heirloom seeds, because I know that they have not been altered in anyway and I know that once my veggies are done growing I can harvest the seeds from them and plant them again, saving me money in the long run. Yes they do cost a little more than the other altered seeds but it is worth it in the end.

4616725
Now once you have planted all your seeds in your pods, water them with cool to warm water and place the bottom of the tote on top and place in a sunny warm area. And Don’t forget to water them. The egg cartons help maintain moisture which is very helpful.

389788_orig
Now you are off to a great growing season!

Posted on May 2, 2013, in DIY - Do It Yourself, Up-Cycle and Reuse and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your
    article seem to be running off the screen in Safari.

    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to
    let you know. The design and style look great though!

    Hope you get the problem solved soon. Many thanks

    • It might be the browser you are using, try firefox or internet explorer. Thank you for letting me know. I will continue to look into it.

Leave a Reply

Economical Mommy

Where saving money is a must

Urban Hallelujah

Let everything that has breath praise the Lord

Pastor's Wife's Life

They say I have my hands full; I say my cup is just full... so full it runs over. -Psalm 23:5

Easy Peasy All-in-One Homeschool

A complete, free online Christian homeschool curriculum for your family and mine

Chew Out Loud

Sweet. Savory. One Bite at a Time.

Books, cupcakes and cats chasing chipmunks...

From Paris, to New York, and Austin

SWEET SIMPLE STUFF

.......... sweet stuff that is soo simple to make!

Economical Mommy

To pinch pennies and to save a buck or two

LoveGreenBaby

Life is about to change

smarter moms

for real moms living in real time

