A Mother’s Day Keepsake – Hand Print Collage

This is an awesome idea to do for Mother’s Day. It is a great keepsake to make with your kids and place on your wall next to your kiddos pictures. A great memory maker.

So it all started with this blank white stretched canvas that was just laying around in my art supplies from Christmas time when I used 1 of the two to make a t-shirt canvas.  I saved the extra one in my art supplies for a craft that might hit my fancy later on and so it did.

You can find the white stretched canvas’s at Wal-mart, Hobby Lobby and many other department stores that sell art and craft supplies.

This was a lot of fun to make with my kiddos and hopefully something they will remember in the years to come. I know it will truly be something I cherish because they won’t be this small for long. This is also great to do even if you only have one child or several children.

To make this hand print collage you will need the following supplies.

  • Stretched canvas 11×14 or larger if you have several children *they usually come in a 2 pack at Wal-mart $7.47 or Hobby Lobby $5.99
  •  Paint brushes – You can find these at the dollar store for $1 for several brushes
  • Acrylic paint *make sure it is washable for little kids patties. If you don’t have any on hand you can buy different colors for about $1 a color.
  •  Plates or other small washable surface for placing paint and brushes on.
  • Newspaper
  • And of course all of your kiddos patties “hands” My mom always called them patties, and it stuck.”

Gather your supplies and place your stretched canvas on a flat surface.

qlHaFDliIKNJyqFmtre2WwU1TCWe1ZXX5fs6J8MjJUE

grab your munchkin and paintbrush and paint the bottom of their hands then place their hands on the canvas. I started with my eldest child. I placed his hands first at the bottom to create the V shape of the heart.
Once my eldest son was done I did the same with my middle child who kept giggling and saying “ticklish mommy ticklish” and we did the middle row of hand prints

ApRIMFEH3nxWk0aSjerCelA795QxcyUdFDg8e56wH_s

Once they were done, they begged me to paint some more. Nothing like scrap paper laying around that was just begging for little boys to paint and make them all pretty.
Here are my little artists.

CDbOCMzOOu9pHerqwOOwyw4JQLeRmGwIGE1Wid__qRo

Next I grabbed my daughter who is our youngest and at first she was not to sure about me painting her palms and fingers and kept rubbing her fingers against her palms. She became a pro in no time though.

Once I was done with her little patties, I did my middle child again because I wanted their fingers to be noticed more than their palms. needless to say I kind of had to beg him to let me paint his hands again.. He gave in, with the realization that he could continue to paint when we were done. Once I was done with our middle, my eldest did his hands again very gladly.

TTOFNEd6p4whGVrkVAQOEA_Ku6pfO-dte8y7qH4aRvs

Once patties were all washed, I wrote their names and the word love in between along with the month and year. Here is our very wet piece of art that will truly be a keepsake in our family and I will cherish for years to come.

EdC2YMU8ytDZei_04KxhVpZFjaOMIPJLqT016Np4JIU

Now it’s almost dry and ready to hang on our wall.

6Afh2bfTOR45R7qnUGm5RpqCDTesZL6cLzAAU-hjRxE

You can put anything around the heart, a saying that is famous in your family, names of your child/children, a favorite scripture verse or a favorite quote. Have fun!

Please leave a comment and for all you mama’s out there, Happy Mother’s Day.

http://www.nerdwallet.com/coupons/contests#.UY1qTcoXX-I

About ajoyful

I'm a wife, a momma, a housekeeper and a penny saving one at that.

Posted on May 9, 2013, in Money Saving Ideas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Your method of explaining everything in this post is genuinely fastidious, every one be able to without difficulty be aware of it, Thanks a lot.

Leave a Reply

Economical Mommy

Where saving money is a must

Urban Hallelujah

Let everything that has breath praise the Lord

Pastor's Wife's Life

They say I have my hands full; I say my cup is just full... so full it runs over. -Psalm 23:5

Easy Peasy All-in-One Homeschool

A complete, free online Christian homeschool curriculum for your family and mine

Chew Out Loud

Sweet. Savory. One Bite at a Time.

Books, cupcakes and cats chasing chipmunks...

From Paris, to New York, and Austin

SWEET SIMPLE STUFF

.......... sweet stuff that is soo simple to make!

Economical Mommy

To pinch pennies and to save a buck or two

LoveGreenBaby

Life is about to change

smarter moms

for real moms living in real time

