National Missing Children’s Day May 25th

amberalertlogojb

As a mother, I will be the first to admit. I have lost my child in a store and once at the zoo. It was the sickest feeling in the world, a feeling that I will admit that praying was the number one thing I did, saying Lord show me where my child is. Help me find him. Please let their not be anything wrong with him, please let him be safe.

I know other mom’s and parents have gone through that thought process. It is not fun. It is even worse I’m sure when you realize that your child is not lost but was kidnapped. My heart breaks every time I walk by the missing children’s posters at stores.
Well May 25th we don’t celebrate National Missing Children’s Day but we observe and hope and pray that we will never really “Lose” a child or have a child taken from us.

Here are some tips to help teach your child/ren to stay safe and not go with strangers.

  • To start the conversation click here for help “Take 25”
  • Here are some great things to teach your child that are age appropriate for safety. Click here
  • Internet safety is also very important to teach your children that are old enough to use the internet click, to learn more click here
  • To go with everything above you should also put together a Child ID kit click here to get started
  • If you ever see an AMBER ALERT please take note and be on alert for the child that is missing.
  • Click here for the timeline and where and when the Amber Alert got started.

Here are my 5 tips to keep your child safe.

  1. Buy a toddler safety harness. I know it might sound cruel like your putting a child on a dog leash but they come in several different styles and are very cute and most importantly they keep your child from wandering off. Click here to learn or buy one. They cost between $12 and $25
  2. Talk to your child about stranger danger. Don’t be afraid to tell them there are bad people in the world that want to hurt them. Sometimes fear is not a bad things, if it means keeping your child safe at all time.
  3. The moment your child can talk, start teaching them your name. The reason for this, is that if they do become separated from you and are asked “what is your mommy’s name?” they will be able to answer.
  4. Teach your child to say NO, Then GO, YELL loudly, and TELL someone “No, Go, Yell, Tell.”
  5. Walk around your neighborhood and point to the places that are safe for them to go, Safe roads, paths, and safe places to play.

I hope this information helps in keeping your child/ren safe.

Please leave any questions or ideas on how to keep children safe. Thanks!

About ajoyful

I'm a wife, a momma, a housekeeper and a penny saving one at that.

Posted on May 24, 2013, in Pointers and Tips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Economical Mommy

Where saving money is a must

Urban Hallelujah

Let everything that has breath praise the Lord

Pastor's Wife's Life

They say I have my hands full; I say my cup is just full... so full it runs over. -Psalm 23:5

Easy Peasy All-in-One Homeschool

A complete, free online Christian homeschool curriculum for your family and mine

Chew Out Loud

Sweet. Savory. One Bite at a Time.

Books, cupcakes and cats chasing chipmunks...

From Paris, to New York, and Austin

SWEET SIMPLE STUFF

.......... sweet stuff that is soo simple to make!

Economical Mommy

To pinch pennies and to save a buck or two

LoveGreenBaby

Life is about to change

smarter moms

for real moms living in real time

