Homemade fondant

tDrIvNhCdVAh7VhbXuDqJ9FYZ8Xnzes9LEfr9zTVu-0

Not sure if you have worked with fondant or if you have ever bought a cake with fondant on it. After my experience yesterday decorating my son’s birthday cake  with my very own fondant. I will never buy the stuff in the store again let alone I probably won’t decorate another birthday cake with frosting from the store! It was so EASY and SO Cheap! Yes it did take time and patience. I started making the fondant and finished decorating the cake in a matter of 2 1/2 hours. Granted there a lot of disturbances and breaks to help kiddos and a few other things. In the end it probably took an 1 1/2 hours to make and decorate. Still not bad. I loved the end result and I loved the fact that if I cut something wrong or it tore while placing it on the cake I could remove it and roll it out again. Unlike creamy frosting where if you make a mistake it is harder to fix.

Here is this fantastic recipe and also a how to: Video on Youtube by Sweet art Factory

  • Grab a 16ounce bag of MINI Marshmallows
  • 2lb bag of powdered sugar
  • 2 – 3 tablespoons of water
  • Shortening
  • If you want flavoring you can add clear flavoring. “I didn’t use any”
  • Gum Paste “Optional” I didn’t use it.

Place your powdered sugar in a large bowl and create a crater/well in the middle of the bowl. Next place your mini marshmallows in a microwavable bowl along with 2 tablespoons of water.

Put you bowl of mini marshmallows and water in the microwave until the marshmallows are melted. “NOT BOILING” Take out of the microwave. You can add your flavoring into the melted marshmallows

Next pour the mixture into the crater/well of powdered sugar in the bowl. Make sure it doesn’t touch the sides. Mix with your fingers. My recommendation on this try not to touch the marshmallow mixture AT ALL. You will find that it sticks a lot to your fingers. To help with this add a little bit of shortening to the mixture.

Take your fondant once it is all mixed and knead it on some powdered sugar on your table or counter top. Once it is kneaded really well divide your fondant into what colors you plan on using.

Sorry I did forget to take pictures for all of you. 😦

Once you have divided your fondant go ahead and start adding your food coloring, and Knead and knead until you get the right color you want. Add more food coloring and knead as needed. Just a reminder if your fondant is sticky add a little bit more shortening. . Continue this step with all colors you need.

Here is my first step in the batman cake I made for Conner. Make sure to roll your fondant thin but not to thin or it will tear really easily. I ended up having to do this step twice because it tore.

hl6bVRzytbBRKYGczn3eX9WDB2oFhLnGamZnrO0ltV8

After I placed the first color on the cake I cut around the edges to give it a more finished look. Than I did step 2 and added the next color, black,

uarUtBjw2FFuKY779lxrBLdRiaMnlomY1LZtISHbDIU

To cut the fondant make sure to use a knife that has a smooth blade not one with grooves in it. Here is step 3.

tDrIvNhCdVAh7VhbXuDqJ9FYZ8Xnzes9LEfr9zTVu-0

The stars are not fondant. I used glow in the dark stars. 🙂 yes I know I cheated. 😉

Here is my little boy with his birthday cake.

27Jb2upAlGzCE1EPB7bwFsFVCLsJaks2pgvFnm01MBc

“Yes I know Spiderman is owned by Marvel and Batman is DC” 🙂

I had a blast making this cake and I hope you have fun making yours as well.

I would love to hear any experiences you have had with making or working with fondant. Please leave comments or questions below.

CommentsBrightenMyDayBlogButton

About ajoyful

I'm a wife, a momma, a housekeeper and a penny saving one at that.

Posted on August 7, 2013, in DIY - Do It Yourself, Money Saving Ideas, Recipes of all Kinds and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. great job mama! Thanks for the recipe

Leave a Reply

Economical Mommy

Where saving money is a must

Urban Hallelujah

Let everything that has breath praise the Lord

Pastor's Wife's Life

They say I have my hands full; I say my cup is just full... so full it runs over. -Psalm 23:5

Easy Peasy All-in-One Homeschool

A complete, free online Christian homeschool curriculum for your family and mine

Chew Out Loud

Sweet. Savory. One Bite at a Time.

Books, cupcakes and cats chasing chipmunks...

From Paris, to New York, and Austin

SWEET SIMPLE STUFF

.......... sweet stuff that is soo simple to make!

Economical Mommy

To pinch pennies and to save a buck or two

LoveGreenBaby

Life is about to change

smarter moms

for real moms living in real time

