Handkerchief Skirt and Bloomers

Handkerchief Skirt

9247495_orig

I made a cute handkerchief skirt and bloomers for my baby girl earlier this year.
I hope the instructions below are easy to follow and you have as much fun as I did making this skirt and bloomers

So I found these cute handkerchiefs at the dollar store for $1 for a package of two.
The packs I bought were light pink and light blue together and a dark red and dark blue together. Pretty colors huh?

3677970

So let’s get started you will need the following.

  • Handkerchiefs
  • Scissors
  • Sewing Machine
  • Thread
  • Elastic
  • Safety Pin

So I started off by cutting the blue handkerchief in half and the pink one in fourths.
However if I were to do this again I would do the pink the same but I would cut the blue into 3rds.
You will see why. Here they are already cut and ready to be sewn.

1149143
I sewed the two half’s of the blue together on both ends and then I sewed 2 pinks together on both ends to create the top part of the skirt.
As you can see in the picture I overlapped the pink to be on top of the blue and then sewed the two together.
“hint” make sure when you sew the top ruffle piece that it is a hair smaller than the bottom ruffle.

9726305
As you can see the two pieces look fine now for the same size ruffle, however I forgot to take into consideration the waist band.

because of the “extra blue” I thought it looked funny so I hemmed the bottom of the skirt.
Otherwise if you cut the handkerchiefs just right you won’t need to do this step.

1633311_orig

Here is the skirt all hemmed up, “probably could have hidden more of that blue” but it is the first one I have ever made.

7178695_orig

Here is the waist after I put the elastic through.
I burned the ends of the elastic with a lighter to keep it from fraying.
I also left a little extra elastic for when I need to make the waist a little larger later.
This way she can wear it even longer then just a couple of months.

2114816_orig

Bloomers

First step I took a pair of my kiddos pants that she already wears. “you will need this to outline the crotch of the pant.”

6467185

Here are the handkerchiefs cut, “you will need 1 handkerchief for each leg.”
When you go to cut make sure you leave LOTS of room for the waist and legs.
Bloomers are meant to be fluffy. So more fabric the merrier.

4308535

Here is one leg done. After you have cut the legs out go ahead and sew the inside of the leg and the outside of the leg together.
It should like the picture above.

  After you have done both legs, go ahead and sew the crotch together.
Pin the two legs together in the crotch area.
I was able to tuck one leg inside another to help with bulkiness of sewing the crotch.

3429557

After you have sewed the crotch together it should like this. “The leg is tucked inside the other.”

3077735

I wanted to add a little extra length to the bloomers.
So I cut the blue handkerchief into fourths and sewed 2 of the thirds to match up with the bottom of the pink bloomers.
“I used the middle of the handkerchief”.
I thought that the middle would look better because of the pattern on the handkerchief.

2492013

After I sewed the ends together I hemmed the bottom of the blue part of the legging.
Then I sewed the top part of the blue ruffle and I left room for the elastic to go through. that hem.

1497609_orig

Then Sew the blue ruffle to the inside of the pink part of the bloomers.
Make sure to keep both ruffles are the same width.
Now if you did the last 2 steps right the elastic should fit through.

5686037
I took a break after putting the blue ruffle on and I put the elastic through the waist.
I did the same thing that I did with the skirt.
I left a little extra elastic to widen the waist later.

6760980_orig

Then put the elastic through the bottom part of the bloomers to create the ruffle of the bloomers.

9670859

Here are the bloomers completed.

2221605_orig

The finished project. The bloomers and skirt.

9247495_orig

Here is my baby girl in her skirt and bloomers! Don’t you just love that smile?

8026142

Have you ever sewn clothes before out of handkerchiefs? If you have questions about any of the steps lave a comment below.

About ajoyful

I'm a wife, a momma, a housekeeper and a penny saving one at that.

Posted on August 13, 2013, in DIY - Do It Yourself, Up-Cycle and Reuse and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Economical Mommy

Where saving money is a must

Urban Hallelujah

Let everything that has breath praise the Lord

Pastor's Wife's Life

They say I have my hands full; I say my cup is just full... so full it runs over. -Psalm 23:5

Easy Peasy All-in-One Homeschool

A complete, free online Christian homeschool curriculum for your family and mine

Chew Out Loud

Sweet. Savory. One Bite at a Time.

Books, cupcakes and cats chasing chipmunks...

From Paris, to New York, and Austin

SWEET SIMPLE STUFF

.......... sweet stuff that is soo simple to make!

Economical Mommy

To pinch pennies and to save a buck or two

LoveGreenBaby

Life is about to change

smarter moms

for real moms living in real time

