The Randomness of Vegetables and Fruit

For all you gardeners out there. Have you ever gotten into your growing season and have found some random vegetable or fruit-growing in a place you never planted it or even close to your garden? Well, I have. I find it on the funny side when it happens and I also see it as an unexpected blessing from God.

To talk about randomness of vegetables. Growing up on a hobby farm we had a compost pile. It was my chore to empty the compost out every day into the compost pile and on one such occasion I found a pumpkin growing up a tree. Yes a pumpkin growing part way up a tree. The crazy thing was it had my initials carved in the pumpkin. Which only meant one thing. My mom had found the pumpkin and had done that. Which by the way it made my day!

Pumpkins and many other “fruits” like it. Yes it is considered a fruit. Now if you want to surprise your kid or kids carve their name or a picture in a small pumpkin or other squash/gourd. As the fruit grows the fruit will scab over and grow with the fruit. It really is a neat thing to see. Also your kids will be overly surprised.

 

images
Yes I snatched the picture from the internet. 🙂

two years ago we planted tons of tomatoes and some tomatoes fell to the ground because they were rotten. So last year we were really surprised that we had 15-20 yep 15-20 random tomato plants growing. Granted it was great since we started our garden a little on the late side and missed the chance to plant tomatoes.

This year 20 odd miles from our garden we find a corn-stalk growing by our house. Yeah a corn-stalk.

Conner came running inside a couple of days ago. Very excited. He was talking so fast because he was so excited. he kept saying mama, mama, mommy, mommy, mom, mom. “yes all of those variations” I found some corn-growing  in the yard. I found some corn, I found some corn. Come look mommy, come look. hurry mommy. I can’t believe my eyes. I a little on the skeptical side of things was like ok show me. I half expected to just some really tall grass. don’t know why I wouldn’t be surprised at the randomness of any vegetable or fruit by now.

However here it is.

GyYwKsNMfQhjywKSLB-aNNjACwQNyjHnIuC7haVlzvI            POGysoKtSkxmwIKb-v7e3fjLTNrvjpgfq7eewmEOucY

It is about knee-high which in this neck of the woods it is very much on the late side of growing. It is about a month late. Corn here needs to be knee-high by July 4th in order for it to be considered a good crop. So we shall see if we actually get any corn from it.

Conner has been very diligent in watering this corn-stalk. He will ask me every day if he can go water it’s roots.
So randomness in our gardens no matter the distance always seems to happen and I will always welcome it with open arms. 🙂

Have you ever found any random fruit or vegetables growing?
What was your response to the randomness?

About ajoyful

I'm a wife, a momma, a housekeeper and a penny saving one at that.

Posted on August 16, 2013, in Money Saving Ideas, Pointers and Tips and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I wish I had a green thumb like yours! 😉

  2. Another fun thing to do: Grow square pumpkins. Put your pumpkin in a crate (like an old milk crate) and see what happens. http://mentalfloss.com/article/17919/new-shapes-garden-produce

Leave a Reply

Economical Mommy

Where saving money is a must

Urban Hallelujah

Let everything that has breath praise the Lord

Pastor's Wife's Life

They say I have my hands full; I say my cup is just full... so full it runs over. -Psalm 23:5

Easy Peasy All-in-One Homeschool

A complete, free online Christian homeschool curriculum for your family and mine

Chew Out Loud

Sweet. Savory. One Bite at a Time.

Books, cupcakes and cats chasing chipmunks...

From Paris, to New York, and Austin

SWEET SIMPLE STUFF

.......... sweet stuff that is soo simple to make!

Economical Mommy

To pinch pennies and to save a buck or two

LoveGreenBaby

Life is about to change

smarter moms

for real moms living in real time

