Homemade Vanilla Coke Recipe

_O57HFRKBlaiaIAFnRgNevhSdQ_epfJrCj2yqL-jjxk

Recently every restaurant we go to my husband will ask for a vanilla coke. Needless to say he hasn’t had the greatest luck. If you are unsure of what that is, it is a Coca Cola with vanilla flavoring.

On one such occasion with the answer being no and me saying honey it can’t be that hard to make our own. After we left the restaurant he went to the grocery store and picked up a 2 liter of Coca Cola and some vanilla. Both of us thinking it was that easy to do. A little bit of vanilla and some Coca Cola. Well needless to say that wasn’t the case.  It was gross.

So I did a little research and found that you need vanilla syrup to mix with the Coca Cola. I went to the store and well that stuff was very expensive. Not very economical. So I pulled out my smart phone and started to look recipes up on the internet and I even called one of my sisters who works in bar to see  if she knew how to make it. She pointed me in the right direction for making our very own Vanilla Syrup. Who knew there were websites for making cocktails and other alcoholic drinks. We really don’t drink so that be why we had no clue. LOL oh well. The website  Drinks Mixerseems to be the place to go. The recipe was easy to follow and very economical to make. So here is the run down.

You will need the following:

  • Pan
  • Spoon
  • Sugar 1 1/2 cups
  • Salt 1/2 tsp
  • Water 1 1/2 cups
  • Real or imitation Vanilla flavoring *we used the real stuff! 2 Tablespoons
  • Ice
  • Drinking glass
  • storage container

Simple as that. I found while making this it reminded me of the Maple Flavored syrup I made a while back for all of you.

to start with this recipe put your sauce pan on the burner on medium heat with 1 1/2 cups of water, 1 1/2 cups of sugar and 1/2 tsp of salt. Mix until it becomes clear and starts to boil.

YiMqYXeAfJhafOZ2A6aI1dWynpF4lXiVTehb2kEXlBM

Hard boil it for 5 minutes. Once it has boiled for the 5 minutes remove it from heat and add 2 tablespoons of vanilla. Stir it up and then let it sit until it cools down.

-IU4M83V0R0OgNVZJckHRgIdy2sv782ELKZGwoVEP1c

“I stick it in the freezer for a bit to help the cool down process along.” Once it is all cooled down put 1 “shot” per can of coke. Now I will tell you that my hubby and I found that less is more in this case. You will have to play with the measurements to see what you like the most. We like it with 3 tsp of vanilla syrup in an 8 ounce glass of coke with ice.

_O57HFRKBlaiaIAFnRgNevhSdQ_epfJrCj2yqL-jjxk

We were able to make the batch above for about .50.  This recipe will make about 500 milliliters. If you plan on buying the vanilla syrup in the store you will be paying almost $8 for a container. Also it only has about 750mililiters in the container. Leave a comment below and tell me what you think.

Have you ever had vanilla coke in a restaurant or heard of it? What were your thoughts on the yummyness of it?

About ajoyful

I'm a wife, a momma, a housekeeper and a penny saving one at that.

Posted on August 28, 2013, in DIY - Do It Yourself, Money Saving Ideas, Recipes of all Kinds and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Dutch guy here, not available in the Netherlands, but a 20 min car trip to Germany, it’s right next to the other coke’s there!

    • Oh no. That is such a bummer for you guys. I’m not a big coca cola drinker. However With the Vanilla syrup in it, I love it! You will have to stock up whenever you head on over there.

Leave a Reply

Economical Mommy

Where saving money is a must

Urban Hallelujah

Let everything that has breath praise the Lord

Pastor's Wife's Life

They say I have my hands full; I say my cup is just full... so full it runs over. -Psalm 23:5

Easy Peasy All-in-One Homeschool

A complete, free online Christian homeschool curriculum for your family and mine

Chew Out Loud

Sweet. Savory. One Bite at a Time.

Books, cupcakes and cats chasing chipmunks...

From Paris, to New York, and Austin

SWEET SIMPLE STUFF

.......... sweet stuff that is soo simple to make!

Economical Mommy

To pinch pennies and to save a buck or two

LoveGreenBaby

Life is about to change

smarter moms

for real moms living in real time

