Homemade pizza made from scratch

I love pizza. However it has become expensive to feed my family with frozen or from a pizza joint. $10 for one pizza is extreme and it nearly takes 2 to feed my family. so $20 for one meal? That is way to much for our small budget. especially when we only allow $20 every 2 weeks for out to eat and only about $35 – $45 in groceries every week. “yes it is tough at times” But we don’t starve and we eat fairly good. It just comes down to bargain shopping and only buying items on sale. Pizza is one of those things that I can make that taste awesome “I also think it tastes a heck of a lot better than what you can buy in the stores, but hey I might be a little bias too.” 😉 So here is my favorite homemade pizza recipe.

I got this recipe from a church cookbook. “I love those cook books.” I had to tweak it a little bit since the dough was way to sticky for my liking. This recipe will make 2 12″ pizzas and it only takes about 20 – 30 minutes to make. This recipe makes a very soft and tasty dough.

Ok so grab everything below first

2 pizza pie pans or 2 cookie sheets
large bowl
Spoon
1 cup of Warm Water
1 yeast packet
2 1/2 to 2 3/4 cups of Flour **start with 2 1/2 and add a little bit more depending on the stickiness of the dough.
2 Tablespoons of Sugar
2 Teaspoons of Salt
4 Tablespoons of olive or vegetable oil
Oven
Tomato sauce *I like using leftover spaghetti sauce
Plus any toppings you want to add to your pizza *We love onions, cheese and pepperoni.

Turn oven and set it for 425
Start with placing your yeast, sugar and water into the bowl

aACoVv6bB4oFa8w4EO7lBZsLAO4RD8lhg7y_zoEcpFo

Next whisk it all together and let it sit in a warm spot. *I usually place it on my stove top*
There is no time limit here. You just need to wait until the yeast has started to foam. It takes between 5 to 10 minutes
This is what it should look like after it has started to foam.

NCMKclYHofqJjmTtdmxOF5xnbjHKXdj-7NiAicIKZNc

Next you are ready to add all the other ingredients – Flour, Salt and Oil. Mix it well with a spoon. Once most of the ingredients have been stirred in you will have to knead the dough. I usually just knead it right in the bowl.

4cyVBzkIWv67ZXzee6TlJphXRIHhi6OYh3KkFFk-_IQ     ukuD2vY4wqrlNX8prWF3M0q0EX2nxpPnKoXMUrpjhEI

You won’t need a rolling-pin – I just split the dough in half and press it between my hands to get it to be a little flat. I place it on a well-greased pizza pie pan and press down with my fingers until it is completely flat.

9q0azAwjq4x0cy6yfjPC8Rv54QNvd6ow75F5F9h3ieE

Once you have completed that place your toppings on in the following order

Tomato sauce
Cheese
Pepperoni
onions
anything else that is bulky

KDTIxx0h9wktY_1MQ4NAeVR14trae90hLs78GQ-1R58

Put your pizzas in the oven.
Once your pizzas are brown around the edges and little bit on top. **About 8 – 15 minutes
Take them out and enjoy. If you want a crispier crust leave in the oven a little longer.

I tried many different pizza crust recipes and this one was by far my families favorite.
Homemade pizza is the way to go.
The total cost of this pizza recipe will depend on the ingredients you add to the pizza
The yeast packet .33 cents
Tomato sauce – .50 cents
*Free if you use leftover spaghetti sauce
Onions* .19 cents
We only use half of one
Pepperoni $1.49
Cheese $1.76 *we buy the extra-large bags to save money
a 7 ounce package will make 4-5 pizzas
Flour – about .66 cents
Salt – Less than .10 cents
Water – Free. we usually use tap

Total Cost for the recipe above?
$5.03 not bad for 2 12″pizzas

I LOVE saving money! You will also find that the pizzas recipe above is more filling then what you buy in the stores. Usually 1 12″ pizza will feed 2 adults 1 schoolager “who by the way is in another growth spurt” a Preschooler and a toddler.

Homemade pizza made from scratch is so worth it in the end. These freeze really well. So if you don’t have time to make some later on in the week. Make these and freeze for later just make sure you wrap them good.
Leave a comment and let me know what you think.

button1

About ajoyful

I'm a wife, a momma, a housekeeper and a penny saving one at that.

Posted on September 16, 2013, in DIY - Do It Yourself and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. When you freeze do you bake then freeze or freee then bake?

    • Honestly I have done both. It taste better though if you don’t bake then freeze. 🙂 I usually will make this recipe and bake only one of them and place the other in the freezer for a day that I’m out of the house and the hubby has to cook dinner for him and the kids.

  2. Excellent recipe. Thanks. I have been making so many pizza’s lately because of my new commercial pizza ovens at the restaurant. Taking in anyone and everyone’s recipes that spark my interest. Good blog, thanks for posting this!

Leave a Reply

Economical Mommy

Where saving money is a must

Urban Hallelujah

Let everything that has breath praise the Lord

Pastor's Wife's Life

They say I have my hands full; I say my cup is just full... so full it runs over. -Psalm 23:5

Easy Peasy All-in-One Homeschool

A complete, free online Christian homeschool curriculum for your family and mine

Chew Out Loud

Sweet. Savory. One Bite at a Time.

Books, cupcakes and cats chasing chipmunks...

From Paris, to New York, and Austin

SWEET SIMPLE STUFF

.......... sweet stuff that is soo simple to make!

Economical Mommy

To pinch pennies and to save a buck or two

LoveGreenBaby

Life is about to change

smarter moms

for real moms living in real time

